JNTU Courses Hyderabad

Updated on: Mar 18, 2013

Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, situated in Hyderabad, was founded in the year 1972. First it was named as Hyderabad Polytechnic Institute, but later it was renamed as  Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University. It is the first technical university to be established in India. The University was named in honour of former Prime Minister of India, Jawaharlal Nehru. Two colleges that became inherent parts of the JNTU University were, the Government Engineering Colleges at Anantapur, Kakinada and Hyderabad and Government College of Fine Arts and Architecture (Hyderabad). The University has its campus in the districts of Kakinada and Anantapur in Andhra Pradesh.

JNTU has been accorded with ‘A’ Grade by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC). The University is not only recognized but also funded by the University Grants Commission. Additionally, the University is a member of The Association of Indian Universities (AIU). The University offers a number of courses in various disciplines, through regular and distance mode.  It also promotes research and development. schools and the colleges. Besides offering Regular programs at district level Under Graduate, Post Graduate and Research the University started offering Distance Education programs in B.Tech in Civil, Electronics & Electrical, Mechanical and Electronics & Communication engineering in 1983. The University also offers Job Oriented courses in creative arts, architectural design and planning through College of Fine Arts and School of Architecture. The University receives maintenance grants from the Government of Andhra Pradesh. JNTU also offers engineering at under graduate level, through its distance education programme.

Colleges Units of JNTU

  • College of Engg., Anantapur
  • College of Engg., Hyderabad
  • College of Engg., Kakinada
  • College of Fine Arts, Hyderabad
  • Institute of Science and Technology
  • (Formerly Institute of Post-Graduate Studies and Research)
  • Bureau of Industrial Consultancy and Research & Development
  • Oil Technological Research Institute, Anantapur
  • School of Planning and Architecture
  • School of Continuing and Distance Education
  • Academic Staff College
  • School of Information Technology
  • School of Management Studies

Post Graduate Courses

Master of Technology

  • MTech in Civil Engineering
  • MTech in Civil Environmental Management
  • MTech in Electrical & Electronics Engineering
  • MTech in Mechanical Engineering
  • MTech in Electronics & Communication Engineering
  • MTech in Transportation Engineering
  • MTech in Biotechnology
  • MTech in Energy Systems
  • MTech in Environmental Geo-informatics
  • MTech in Environmental Management
  • MTech in Spatial Information Technology
  • MTech in Geo-informatics and Surveying Technology
  • MTech in Water Resources Management
  • MTech in Computer Science
  • MTech in Software & Information Technology
  • MTech in Software Engineering
  • MTech in Structural Engineering
  • MTech in Geo-Environmental Engineering
  • MTech in Electrical Power Engineering
  • MTech in Power Electronics
  • MTech in Advanced Manufacturing Systems
  • MTech in Thermal Engineering
  • MTech in Systems & Signal Processing
  • MTech in Digital Systems and Computer Electronics
  • MTech in Software & Information Technology
  • MTech in Information Technology
  • MTech in Computer Aided Structural Engineering
  • MTech in Electrical Power Systems
  • MTech in Power & Industrial Drives
  • MTech in Refrigeration & Air Conditioning
  • MTech in Digital Electronics & Communication
  • MTech in Chemical Engineering
  • MTech in Soil Mechanics & Foundation Engineering
  • MTech in Structural Systems & Design
  • MTech in Advanced Power Systems
  • MTech in Electrical Power Systems High Voltage
  • MTech in CAD / CAM
  • MTech in Machine Design
  • MTech in Computers & Communications
  • MTech in Instrumentation & Controls
  • Master of Architecture:
  • Master of Architecture (MArch)
  • Master of Architecture (MArch) - Architecture Conservation
  • Master of Architecture (MArch) - Interior Design
  • Master of Science:
  • Master of Urban & Regional Planning (MURP)
  • MSc in Chemistry
  • MSc in Computer Science
  • MSc in Information Technology
  • MSc in Environmental Science & Technology
  • MSc in Environmental Biotechnology
  • MSc in Biotechnology
  • MSc in Geo-informatics and Watershed Management
  • MSc in Industrial Chemistry
  • MSc in Mathematics
  • MSc in Systems Theory & Computer Modeling
  • MSc in Physics
  • MSc in Fibre Optics Optical Communication
  • MSc in Drugs & Pharmaceuticals
  • MSc in Food Technology
  • MSc in Satellite Meteorology and Weather Informatics

Master of Business Administration

  • Master of Business Administration - Part Time (MBA (PT))
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA)

Other Courses

  • Master of Fine Arts (Part Time) (MFA (PT)) - Photography and Visual Communication
  • Master of Fine Arts (Part Time) (MFA (PT)) - Applied Arts and Visual Communication
  • Master of Computer Applications (MCA)

Undergraduate Courses

Bachelor of Technology (BTech)

  • B.Tech.    Aeronautical Engg.
  • B.Tech.    Bio-Medical Engg.
  • B.Tech.    Biotechnology.
  • B.Tech.    Chemical Engg
  • B.Tech.    Civil Engg
  • B.Tech.    Computer Science & Engg
  • B.Tech.    Computer Science & Systems Engg
  • B.Tech.    Electrical & Electronics Engg
  • B.Tech.    Electronics & Communication Engg.
  • B.Tech    Electronics & Computers
  • B.Tech    Electronics & Controls Engg
  • B.Tech    Electronics & Instrumentation Eng
  • B.Tech    Electronics & Telematics Engg
  • B.Tech    Information Tech
  • B.Tech    INSTRUMENTATION & Control Engg
  • B.Tech    Mechanical (Mechatronics) Engg
  • B.Tech    Mechanical (Production) Engg
  • B.Tech    Mechanical Engg
  • B.Tech    Metallurgical Engg
  • B.Tech    Metallurgy & Material Tech

B.F.A.    Applied Art

  • B.F.A.    Painting
  • B.F.A.    Photography
  • B.F.A.    Sculpture

Other Courses

  • B.Arch.    Architecture
  • B. Plan    Planning
  • B. Pharm - Pharmacy

Doctoral Level Courses

  • Master of Science by research (MS)
  • Master of Philosophy (M. Phil.)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) – for all fields
  • JNTU Offers full time and external Ph.D degrees in the following disciplines:
  • Bio-technology
  • Metallurgy
  • Chemistry
  • Physics
  • Civil Engineering
  • Spatial Information Technology
  • Computer Science and Engineering
  • Water Resources
  • School of Information Technology
  • Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Electrical and Electronics Engineering
  • Computer Science and Engineering - M.S
  • Electronics and Communication Engineering
  • Electronics and Communication Engineering - M.S
  • Energy Systems
  • English
  • Energy Systems - M.S
  • Environmental Science
  • Pharmaceutical Sciences - M.S
  • Management Science
  • Mathematics - M.Phil
  • Mathematics
  • Mechanical Engineering
Subscribe to our newsletter